The Damsel Money Diaries: Week 3

The Damsel Money Diaries: Week 3

Hello, readers! With the craziness of the fourth of July weekend and jumping back into work, I am a bit behind on my money diaries. I only have one more week to document my spending, and it’s been an eye-opening experience for me!

I didn’t find this week super challenging as the others. Other than work, this week was really relaxing for me, so I didn’t feel tempted to go out and spend money. It was also payday week for rent, and I was really striving to make my money stretch for the next two weeks.

If you haven’t read weeks one and two, click here and here to get caught up!

The Damsel Money Diaries: Week 3

MONDAY

7:30 a.m. – I wake up and make a strawberry smoothie and toast for breakfast.

8:30 a.m. – I start meal prepping for the week ahead: I make Greek Harissa chicken with roasted veggies and tortilla chickpea soup (from the Love & Lemons cookbook)

12 p.m. – I eat avocado toast and some tortilla chickpea soup for lunch. Then, I start getting ready for work!

2 p.m. – Get to work, start munching on snacks

6:30 p.m. – Eat dinner of chicken & roasted veggies!

10:30 p.m. – Ashton comes over and we watch “Friends” on Netflix. I drink some of my leftover smoothie from this morning.

Total spent: $0 (yay!)

TUESDAY

9 a.m. – I wasn’t feeling too good this morning so I slept in later than usual. I made scrambled eggs with toast and fruit for breakfast and drank some coffee. I checked my bank account to see that I got paid $813.68 from work! Woo! Half of this is to pay rent and the water bill.

After, I did some yoga and read “The Other Typist.”

12 p.m. – Time for lunch! I ate some edamame and asparagus salad with grilled salmon.

1:15 p.m. – I head out a little early for work to get some gas. $25

1:30 p.m. – I stop in CVS and grab a Starbucks iced coffee and a bag of Starbursts. $6.18 Some coworkers and I have a candy stash at one of our desks, and I felt the need to contribute!

2 p.m. – Busy day at work & it’s the 60th anniversary for the tv station. I munch on trail mix throughout the afternoon.

6:30 p.m. – I eat tortilla soup for dinner…for some reason it’s not agreeing with my stomach, so I only eat half of it. I check my bank account and transfer $200 from my checking to my savings account.

10:30 p.m. – I get home and I am famished! I pour a glass of white wine and eat some carrots, tortilla chips and salsa for a snack.

12:30 a.m. – I fall asleep reading “The Other Typist.”

Total spent: $31.18

WEDNESDAY

8:30 a.m. – Wake up groggy and make a peach ginger smoothie with some toast.

9 a.m. – Fall back asleep for 30 minutes… just can’t seem to wake up!

10 a.m. – Head to my power yoga class!

11:15 a.m. – Get back and fix lunch. I have some more tomato chickpea tortilla soup with some avocado toast. I call my mom to catch up on the latest. Ashton and I are visiting my parents for the July 4th weekend and we’re making plans for what we should do and eat.

1:45 p.m. – Head to work!

6:30 p.m. – Eat Greek Harissa chicken with veggies and some pasta for dinner. I peruse on Etsy and finally decide to buy this really cool reclaimed wood swinging shelf for my bedroom. $52

10:30 p.m. – Ashton comes over! He was gone for a day at a conference. We make a trip to Taco Bell only because I’m randomly craving junk food. I get a quesarito, a root beer and guac and chips. Ashton pays.

Total spent: $52

THURSDAY

8 a.m. – Wake up and immediately regret eating that Taco Bell. I try to eat a piece of toast with almond butter and some green tea. Nothing helps the food hangover subside. Never again.

9 a.m. – Meet a friend for coffee at T-Bones records & cafe! $3.29

10:30 a.m. – Stop by the grocery store to grab almond milk, sea salt and some baking ingredients for a recipe I’m doing on the blog! $17.10

11 a.m. – I get back and discover that this dress I’ve been wanting on Anthropologie is 75 percent off….ya’ll it’s too good to pass up. I splurge. $69 on the CC

12 p.m. – I eat a PB&J for lunch with chips and salsa… I know, super sad. For some weird reason, I wasn’t in the mood for the meals that I prepped.

2 p.m. – Head to work. While at work, I pay the cable bill. It was free for me because I got some of my deposit back so it was just $29.47 for my roommate.

6:30 p.m. – Eat Greek chicken with pasta and veggies for dinner.

Total spent: $89.39

FRIDAY

8:30 a.m. – Wake up and decide to skip yoga & do some things for the blog. I eat eggs and toast for breakfast.

9 a.m. – I make a yummy chess pie bars for the blog and take photos in the only spot in my apartment with natural light. This is real life, ya’ll. Check out the recipe here.

12 p.m. – Eat another sandwich for lunch.

2 p.m. – Head to work and bring the dessert I made for the blog. My coworkers gobble it all up!

6 p.m. – Eat veggie pasta for dinner.

Total spent: $0

SATURDAY

8:30 a.m. – I wake up pretty groggy and have some eggs for breakfast. I start doing laundry and buy the Sims 4 game that came out two years ago on Origin. $30 on CC I play the game for about 2 hours.

11 a.m. – I take a walk around the apartment complex. It’s so hot!

12 p.m. – Eat some pasta filled with random leftovers I have.

3 p.m. – Pack for the July 4th weekend! For some reason, this takes me forever.

5 p.m. – Leave for Pensacola with my boyfriend. I already filled up my gas tank earlier this week, so we don’t have to stop for that!

9 p.m. – After a mini car breakdown and a lot of traffic, we arrive and my parents have fixed us dinner! Corn on the cob, pork ribs, slaw salad and blueberry crisp for dessert. I also have a much-needed glass of wine. Yum!

10 p.m. – We head downtown to the piano bar for drinks! Ashton pays.

Total spent: $30

SUNDAY

9:30 a.m. – Wake up and have an English muffin and a banana for breakfast with coffee. We lounge around until lunchtime.

11:30 a.m. – My mom fixes Ashton and I sandwiches for lunch.

12 p.m. – We then head out to see my childhood hometown! I spend the afternoon showing him where I went to high school and the houses I grew up in. We stop at a gas station and I fill up. $25

4:30 p.m. – We get back from our adventures and we’re pretty tired, so we both take naps before dinner.

5:30 p.m. – My family, Ashton and I head to dinner on the beach! I order a kale caesar salad and grilled snapper for dinner! Yum! Dad pays.

7 p.m. – We head to a couple of bars on the beach! Dad pays for drinks.

9 p.m. – Head home! We are pretty tired so we head to bed shortly after!

Total spent: $25

Total spent this week: $227.57 + $200 in savings

Week breakdown:

Groceries: $17.10 (I bought most of my groceries the previous week)

Dining out: $9.17

Gas: $50

Shopping: $151

Savings: $200

What I’ve learned this week: I’ve finally started saving and I’m pretty proud of myself! I know it will “pay off” in the long run. I did splurge on a few shopping items, which I need to cut back on. But I am slowly buying unique decoration pieces for my bedroom, which is fun to add things over time.

How are your spending habits? I’d love to know what you spend most/need to cut back on.

 


Share:

 0

Leave a Reply